top of page

She Tells Her Love




Digital Score



For a perusal score of this work, please contact me!



"She Tells Her Love" Single Movement Live Performance

"The Undying Hymns" Full Live Performance



Voicing - SATB Chorus, a cappella

Level - Easy

Language - English

Duration - 2:30

Category - Secular, Love, Nature, Spring, Winter, Snow 


She Tells Her Love is the third and final movement from a set of three short, a cappella choral pieces entitled The Undying Hymns. The text of each the movement deals with subjects of beauty and love, painting vivid and imaginative scenes of love and portraying them as immortal and untouched by time. This particular text comes from Robert Ranke Graves' poem, "She Tells Her Love While Half Asleep".


This movement opens with short phrases imitating the slow breathing and sighs of someone half asleep. The range of the piece rests low in each voice as they sing with soft, muted tones. As the piece nears the end, the music finally begins to bloom as the imagery of an emerging Spring begins to bud through the Winter snow.  




By Robert Ranke Graves


She tells her love while half asleep,

In the dark hours,

With half-words whispered low:

As earth stirs in her winter sleep

And puts out grass and flowers

Despite the snow,

Despite the falling snow.







bottom of page